Get it while it's HOT...

Down Time Makes Things Look Up

In telecommuting, tips, Wahm, work at home, work at home basics on December 3, 2009 at 9:49 am

Im a firm believer in down time. I mean it. Im not saying that so I can take five and watch General Hospital either. (Although I occassionally do that).

If your serious about working at home then you have to schedule a little down time in your day. The time you sleep during the night doesnt count, either. If you dont stop and smell the roses every once in a while you will literally stroke out.

Little story for you:

Back in April my husband was working out of town. I was home alone with six children and a new puppy. My car broke down, I had two late pay checks and rent was over due.

My first instinct was to go into work overload. I worked day and night. 16 hours a day for three days straight. On my sons 8th birthday I was up at 5 am to work before jetting to town to pick up his bouncy house and cake. Headed home to set things up and wait for guests. I was about 3 miles from my house, driving with 4 children in the car and thats all I remember.

I passed out. Driving.

I woke up in the hospital about 24 hours later.

I had a nervous breakdown and never saw it coming.

I kept telling myself, you can do this, just keep going, keep going. When in fact I needed to stop.

I spent two days in the hospital.

Now, I make downtime no matter what. I cant afford another two days in the hospital.

My down time usually comes in the form of stopping for about an hour after the kids get off the bus and discussing their day. Ill start working again and then about an hour before bed time Ill stop. Socialize with thr fam and spend at least thirty minutes reading or watching tv.

It works.

Also I make sure to take at least one day off a week. I cant stress the importance of that day off. It helps keep the husband and kids from having a nervous breakdown along with me.

Schedule a little down time. Its the most important time on the daily planner.

  1. Hugs! Making downtime is a problem for me, too. It doesn’t matter that we know we have to take at least that 5 minutes a day for ourselves, but everything else butts in.

    Here’s to never being in that situation again. Take care.

  2. You are so right Sherrie. One the hardest parts about working at home is when you are a mom who really, really has trouble putting yourself ahead of your family. Its hard to look at working as putting your family first but it really is.

Leave a Reply

